Work Experiences

Confessions of a Rookie PR Professional

I knew that I wanted to be involved in the Public Relations world after sitting in a Intro to PR class. The very next day, I changed my major. However, I didn’t exactly know what I was getting myself into. Public Relations isn’t an easy field. It has to come naturally. Since graduation (almost two years ago), so much has happened in my personal and professional life. I’ve learned so much. But, just like every other person, I have my doubts, fears and challenges. These are my confessions…

Confession 1: I don’t know what I’m doing. 
Well, I might know sort of what I’m doing. When you’re in school, you learn about the tools to help you become a successful PR professional. During internships and job experiences, you learn about using these tools. I have those things under my belt, but I wouldn’t consider myself a pro. The PR world is constantly changing, so I am constantly learning. Most of the time, I have to go with my gut. But, it’s an educated, gut decision.

Confession 2: I’m always working. 
I feel like I am constantly working. Between taking care of clients, keeping track of current events/news/trends, and learning new skills, you don’t have very much “me” time. I just found a groove to where I allow myself more free time with friends and my significant other. I have even put my phone away once or twice. (That’s a big deal.)

Confession 3: I might complain, but I actually love what I do.
Early mornings, clients, and the world can seem overwhelming sometimes. I always want to please everyone. When things don’t go according to plan, I get upset and frustrated. I usually complain to my significant other (poor thing!) When your press release gets published, or you get a call from a happy client, it’s all worth it. My job is never boring. I have new challenges and triumphs everyday. I love it!

Do you have any confessions? Tell them below. Your secret is safe with me! 😉

Leave a Reply

