Work Experiences

Working from Home

Working-from-Home

Photo from blog.zopim.com

According to Forbes, one in five Americans work from home, and that number is expected to increase to more than 50% in the next five years. When I was given the opportunity to work from home, I was ecstatic. I’m a soon-to-be military spouse, and we are going to be moving constantly over the next two years.

There are a number of reasons why working from home is AWESOME.

  • I can wake up whenever I want to, and wear my PJ’s at work. (I don’t do this everyday.)
  • I can work when I want to work.
  • I have my refrigerator 10 feet away.
  • I can take an afternoon nap.
  • I get puppy therapy throughout the day.
  • I can rearrange my schedule to meet with friends.
  • I finally have more time to do things I enjoy.
  • I can leave town anytime and take my work with me.
  • No office interruptions.

I know. These seem kind of childish. But after working constantly since I was 15, it feels amazing getting paid while I’m at home. This is my fourth month working from home, and I’m starting to see the BAD.

  • I’m alone, and I’m an extrovert. I actually enjoy working with people.
  • Home distractions. Sometimes I am thinking about the dirty dishes in the sink.
  • I have to motivate myself constantly. It’s easy for me to get into the same old routine. (NOT GOOD)
  • You need discipline. No one is here to monitor you, so it’s easy for you to slack off. Luckily, I have always been an overachiever.
  • No direction. I actually enjoy having a team to learn from.
  • It’s hard coming up with ideas on your own.
  • You focus less on your professional life.

I thoroughly enjoy what I do on a daily basis. However, I’m not sure if it’s for me. I think working from home is for people that would like to focus more on their personal life. I’m at the point where I would like to focus on developing more professionally. To help, I have been exploring other ways to fill my “professional void.”

Would you enjoy working from home? Why? How would you stay motivated?

Leave a Reply

