PR Connections

Stop Sabotaging Yourself

Confidence is key in order for you to excel in the PR world. Without confidence, you could sabotage yourself. It can keep you from a promotion or landing that dream job.

I have to admit that I am guilty of sabotaging myself  every now and then. I’m a perfectionist, and I want people to like me. After reading Lindsay Olson’s 10 Things You Do or Say That Undermine You at Work, I knew that I needed to recognize some of the ways I undermine myself.

1. Always apologizing.
I constantly say “sorry” when I walk into someone’s office, interject in a conversation, or feel uncomfortable.  I feel like I don’t belong there. This leads to never sharing your opinion, which is counter productive in the office. You’re there to work. No need to apologize.

2. Too critical.
Everyone is critical of themselves, but I bring it to a whole new level. If I don’t receive positive feedback, I assume that my boss and coworkers hate my work. Also, if I don’t perform as well as others, I put myself down. As Olson says, “if you don’t believe in yourself, how can you expect others to?” If you work hard and learn from your mistakes, you have nothing to worry about.

3. Talking Too Quiet or Too Fast.
This happens out of nervousness. Usually, it happens to me while I am talking to a large group of people or my boss. If you talk too quietly or too fast, people will have a hard time understanding your thoughts and ideas. They may not take you seriously. Remember to breathe and be confident. If you say anything with confidence, people will listen.

It may happen periodically. But, it’s important to recognize it, so I can stop it completely.

Now, it’s your turn. What are some ways you sabotage yourself?

 

One thought on “Stop Sabotaging Yourself

  1. Those are great points, Victoria. I sabotage myself sometimes by settling or agreeing with everything. This usually means trying to avoid any type of confrontation just so I don’t have to debate my point of view. Sometimes it’s hard to stand up and say, “This could done so much better. Can we come up with a way to make it more productive?” Sometimes it’s just easier to stay away from the challenge- to never rock the boat. We often forget when you stand up for a positive change in the workplace, you get noticed.

Leave a Reply

