In The News / PR Connections

A Glance At Working From Home

It would be sooo nice to work from home.  I could work in a coffee shop or work from the comfort of my home, and I would have complete control over my day. I believe that working from home can increase productivity and job satisfaction. Statistics have even showed that it is cost-effective for companies, and it has boosted productivity levels.

According to Lindsay Olson’s “How Productive Is Working from Home?”, the CEO of Yahoo!, Marissa Mayer, announced that she will be banning people from working at home. This seems pretty extreme, but the CEO believes that the benefits of being in the same work environment out weigh the benefits from working from home.

I can see where she is coming from. Some of the best ideas/discussions/insights come from office interaction and meetings. Employees may be sacrificing the speed and quality of their work due to distractions.

After reading this article, I can understand both the positives and negatives of working from home and in the office. However, I think it depends on your employee’s discipline, the type of business, and its management. With today’s technology, it is very easy to stay connected with the company and its management.

I could work from home. Could you?

Leave a Reply

