PR Connections / Work Experiences

The Importance of Networking

Happy Sunday! I am so glad that I get to talk about networking today because it is more important than many people realize. When I moved to Auburn, I only knew a handful of people, and they were still in school. I tried to reach out to one of the prominent PR professionals in the area, but I didn’t really try to build my relationship with that person and meet other professionals. This probably explains why it took me more than six months to find a decent job.

In the small town of Auburn, it’s all about who you know. This not only pertains when you are looking for a job, but when you already have the job. It’s really hard to get someone to buy advertising from me when they don’t know me. It usually takes two to three weeks before someone will be willing to do business with me.

Many of you may not know that I am going to be marrying into the military. Yes, this is a major challenge for a PR professional. I recently found out that I will be moving to Columbus AFB (another small town) in the next year. I will be starting over again.

Live and learn. Networking is very important, and it is something that will be a priority starting NOW.

Here are some of my plans:

  • Build/Update my Social Media Resume ( Try Weebly)
  • Starting Friending/Following/Connecting to Prominent Leaders, Businesses, News Outlets, and PR Professionals in that area.  (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn)
  • Find People You Know
  • Attend Networking Events/Chats
  • Research Prospective Employers (Start Emailing)
  • Visit the Area

A fun video on Networking Basics by Marie Forleo

Read more on Navigating Your Network by nyc PR girls

One thought on “The Importance of Networking

  1. I love this video! I found out about Marie via LinkedIn & she is the bomb-dot-com. On the brightside, the more you move, the more contacts you’ll have and possibly you’ll be able to do freelance/consultant work and not have to worry about finding a 9 to 5 job 🙂

Leave a Reply

