Work Experiences

How College Didn’t Prepare Me

Picture 29BUT, there is one major thing I wasn’t prepared for after college.

When I sat in my classes, my teachers brought in previous students with successful, dream jobs. When we asked for advice from the previous students, they said to build your resume with professional experience and internships. I did this and more.

I spent my entire college career working on campus with relevent jobs, participating in extracurricular activities, maintained a high GPA, and I had an internship under my belt before I graduated.

I graduated with a the expectation of getting a job in the public relations/marketing field making a good starting salary. It didn’t happen.

I had to work two jobs in order to support myself: a Guest Services Agent, The Hotel at Auburn University and a Sales Associate, Wetseal. I was working more than 50 hours a week, and I was embarrassed about my situation.

A few months later, I was able to land a job as an Account Executive, Tiger Communications ( A group of radio stations). Sales. I wasn’t too thrilled. Again, I was disappointed in myself for not being able to land a better paying and PR related job.

Two months into my job, I was meeting with several marketing professionals. It came to my attention that several of them were Account Executive’s before landing a marketing/pr job.

I had no idea. I graduated with a perception in my mind of what job I was supposed to get. I learned that you have to start somewhere. Even media sales. I have enjoyed my venture into the professional world. I am really enjoying learning and networking with professionals.

So for those of you that are embarrassed or ashamed of your job situation, don’t be. Everyone has to start somewhere. Every job has a lesson.

Leave a Reply

