PR Connections

Getting Started in the Workplace

A lot has happened in the past couple of months. I got engaged, moved, and started two jobs. Looking back, I have had a lot of life changes and lessons through these big events.

When you graduate college, you have a dream of finding the perfect job with the perfect salary. To be honest, it doesn’t happen the way you imagine it. Everyone has to start somewhere. After 6 months of job searching, I finally found something! I never imagined that I would be working in these industries, nor did I think I would be working two jobs.

I am currently working full-time for the Hotel at Auburn University as a Guest Services Agent. Even though this is not a salary position, I am very excited to be working for such a prestigious hotel. After a couple of weeks, I realized that I have utilized my PR knowledge, and I have a gained a wide variety of skills. The hotel business is fascinating! Even though I am not working strictly with marketing or public relations, I think it is a great industry to start a professional career.

Secondly, I work part-time for Wetseal. Don’t laugh! I know this sounds like the typical high school job, but there is a slight learning curve for those that have never worked in retail. Also, I get a great discount! I have also noticed that there are several PR aspects of the job that I exceed in more than others.

The job market is horrible. However, there are several opportunities that can come from jobs that aren’t exactly your dream job. Don’t shut yourself off from other opportunities. I have opened myself up to two very different jobs that had nothing to do with my dream job. Through this experience, I have utilized my degree and gained new skills that make me more versatile in the workplace.

The biggest lesson that I have learned over these past few months is that it doesn’t matter where you are, but it matters where you are going.

Leave a Reply

