PR Connections

A Blog Can Help You Find A Job

I read this PR Daily article over a month ago, but I found myself thinking about it again since I am currently searching for a job after I graduate this May.

When I first started this blog, I did it for a numerous reasons such as:

  1. Improve my writing skills
  2. Keep up-to-date with current events and the industry
  3. Learn more about the pr profession
  4. Showcase my skills and knowledge

These reasons were also listed in the article. However, there was a very important benefit to blogging that I failed to recognize. Blogging can be used as a tool to find a job or gain interest from prospective employers. How? Let me tell you.

Show off your skills
There is a difference between telling someone you are knowledgable about something and showing them. A blog is a great tool to show people that you know what you are talking about.

Possible connections
If someone is impressed with your blog, they may hire you or recommend you to employers that are looking for employees. Also, blogging is a great way to network with your peers.

Enhance your brand
If you are looking for a job, it is very important to brand yourself. Building your personal brand means that you need to be found everywhere. Link your blog to your Twitter, LinkedIn, PROpenMic, or any other possible platform that a prospective employer may find you. Employers don’t enjoy boring resumes. Blogs are more enjoyable for people to read, and it is easier to keep an employers attention. Lastly, at the end of your job interview mention that they can take a look on your blog if they would like to learn more about your interests and knowledge. It may make the difference.

I haven’t received any job offers from this blog. However, I feel that this blog has truly helped me improve as a public relations professional. Try it out!

Hang in there job seekers!
Victoria

 

Leave a Reply

