PR Connections

Tips for Social Media Newcomers

Most people from my generation (18-25 years old) are pros at Social Media. Well, almost pros. I currently have accounts at Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, Google +, Weebly, and Slideshare, but I still don’t recognize myself as an expert. Most Social Media networks have continual updates, so in order for you to keep up, you need to utilize the network regularly. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have that kind of time. I found some tips on PRSquared’s Social Media Tips for Newbies to share with Social Media newcomers.

First, you need to understand how Social Media impacts you and the way you reach your target market. Watch the video below:

Now, here are some tips that can get you started.

Social Media cannot be taught – it must be experienced.
Learning Social Media is a hands on process. In order for you to understand it, you need to use it. Before you decide what to use for a specific company or
campaign you need to be familiar with the network you are using. This will allow you to utilize Social Media in an efficient way.

 

Don’t ask for help, ask for guidance.
Be confident with you Social Media skills. If you know something, you are off to a great start. Asking for assistance is ok, but you need to make sure they don’t do the work for you. Remember, Social Media is a hands on learning process. If you’re not doing it, you’re not learning
anything.

 

When all else fails, Google it!
There are many Social Media resources that you can utilize to improve you Social Media usage. Google is just a basic tool for you to use if you get in a
bind, or you are conducting research on Social Media.

These were my favorite tips that PRSquared listed on their blog. I hope that you find this advice useful. Enjoy your journey through the Social Media world!

2 thoughts on “Tips for Social Media Newcomers

  1. I love how you pointed out that you aren’t an expert in social media. Personally, I believe that none of us are. The platform is too new for frankly anyone to be yet. That video you posted is one of my favorites. I really enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

